• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

What Kind Of Substrate?

joejacobs

5 Year Member
my tegu has been eating pieces of his cyprus mulch alot. he passes it through fine each time, but id rather not take any chances. what kind of sunstrate should i use without using any kind of barks? please help.

isdrake

5 Year Member
I'm no expert but I have been using a mix of soil and humus and it's been good so far. I have no problem with the humidity, it works good for digging and it isn't toxic. So I would say it qualifies as a substrate. Plus it looks a lot better then cypress. :p

If anyone has any better suggestion I would love to hear them too. :)

Jefroka

5 Year Member
I still have cypress as part of mine's substrate but removed all the large pieces as he was eating the heck out of them but fortunately never became impacted. Some of the pieces he ate were down right scary large.

I now use a mix of cypress, kiln dried pine shavings, top soil, sphagnum moss and coco fiber.

...Jefroka

Adam87

5 Year Member
yea i havnt seen my gu actualy eat the cypress but he always pushes it on his plate so i push it off for him to only push it back on like he wants to bury it and save it for later haha but i heard that pine is actually bad is that true?

Jefroka

5 Year Member
Adam87 said:
yea i havnt seen my gu actualy eat the cypress but he always pushes it on his plate so i push it off for him to only push it back on like he wants to bury it and save it for later haha but i heard that pine is actually bad is that true?