• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Tegu Advice? I'm completely new to this.

businessturtle

To start, my name is Alex and I have recently purchased (two days ago today) a Black and White Tegu. Her name is Julia Kevin. She's only a few months old and about 9 or 10 inches long.

Before hand, I researched the diet, habitat, and proper care for the creatures, but I'm still worried that even after researching I'd still be doing something wrong.

I've devised a diet of some lean turkey, mealworms, melons, grapes, blueberries, and eggs, which I use liquid calcium and vitamins on. Granted, today is the first day I've given her a large variety of foods (and it seems she liked watermelon and the turkey). I'm going to try and keep the diet varied from day to day as well as keeping her tank humid and hot. It's a 20 gallon tank, with mossy substrate and some kind of lizard friendly soil that I've made especially sure doesn't get in her water or her food.

I don't really know how to start handling her so she warms up to me and begins to want my attention. From what I've read they're extremely smart and she exhibits this with her couple times shes tried to climb out. I use a ceramic heat light for night time, and a 100 watt heat light for day time, with a uv bulb as well.

I purchased a dripping device to keep water flowing into the tank, is this a good idea? Also, ANYTHING at all that anyone can tell me or advise me on would be really appreciated.

All I really want is for her to grow up big and happy and for her to enjoy seeing me.

Dubya

1,000+ Post Club
businessturtle said: