• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Lurking for more than a year.

Orion

5 Year Member
Hello all,

I have been lurking for a year. Last November I got my B&W Tegu I always wanted. I have had snakes for over 30 years and some lizard experience. I thought I knew enough to get started. I found this board and knew I was wrong. I did happen to read lots of info here that helped him to grow like a monster. He grew quite rapidly in the spring and i took him to the vet and everything checked out great and the vet said he was in awesome shape and was very healthy. I did everything right cage lighting,temp, humidity, food, etc. Then I went on vacation for a month this summer and left him with a friend who has had reptiles for over 20 years also. About 4 days he called me to tell me that my baby was prolapsed. My friend took him to the vet and after taking X-rays the vet said that it was really bad and that his stomach had ruptured. I had him put down, it sounds awful of me but I felt it was the humane thing to do. My real question is what causes prolapse? My friend told me he was feeding him mice regularly, could over feeding cause prolapse?

GOT_TEGUS

5 Year Member
Orion said:
Hello all,