• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Long time listener, first time caller.

Reflektr

5 Year Member
Hey everyone, what's up? My name's Travis, and I'm fairly new to the board. I've been flipping through it now for a few weeks, but this is my first post. I'm new to tegus, but I've been keeping reptiles, and have been fascinated by them almost since I could walk lol. Between my girlfriend and I, we currently have 2 bearded dragons (Josie and Zero), and a veiled chameleon (Merlin...But I call him Creepy). I've had iguanas and turtles in the past, and I don't like playing favorites, but so far, the beardies have to be the best I've kept. There are many species out there I may not see myself keeping, but I enjoy learning about them all equally. I travel between Illinois and Missouri quite a bit, and the good ol' thick green "Audobahn Guide to North American Reptiles and Amphibians" book (yeah, you know the one!) never seems to get too far from reach. Awhile back, I was online looking at random lizard pictures, and come acrossed one of an Argentine black and white tegu. I think most people on here will agree when I say it was love at first sight lol. I wanted to learn more, so here I am! This may seem like a silly question, but from what I understand so far; tegus are not monitors? I thought the stout body, scale pattern, forked tongue, and Jacobson's organ was part of what made a monitor a monitor. Reason why I ask, is I'm strongly considering a tegu as the next addition to the family, and I'd like to learn as much as I can before making any major decisions. That, and I just plain find them fasci