• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Hognose

meeksishere

I am fairly new to snakes and new to this site also. I am wondering how well hognose's make in captivity. I saw a baby green hognose at the reptile show i just got back from over the weekend and i loved it but i wanted find out how well they do and if there is any downsides to owing one?

Chuey

5 Year Member
I think there's one downside, the coolest thing about them are they play dead, but in order to do that funny thing that they do you have to agitate them. Catch-22

G

You have to work them up pretty good to get one to play dead ..There is good deal of hissing and striking that goes on before ... I can`t think it would be advisable to work a tame one up like that .. It could start not eating or something ..

Chuey

5 Year Member
Exactly. Very cool snakes, just don't think that you will be getting him to play dead on command for your friends. Its not cool to agitate them like that.

G

They are way cool when they play dead tho . Their tongue hangs out and by then they smell dead . They lay on their backs and when righted turn back over in one barely discernible movement . you can hold them what ever [wild ones ] and you can`t [wake them up ]

brutus13

They are pretty basic snake, they can have a little attitude. Is this your first snake? I don't suggest agitating any animal to make them do such task. It's very stressful and not healthy for them. It's like people with frilled dragons. Just enjoy your new buddy.

Chuey

5 Year Member
So let's just for a moment say you are not a malicious person and a great reptile keeper!