• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Experience from raising tegus

Beastraiser626

Hi I am new to tegu lizards and I wanna know about some of the things people have learned from raising a tegu that wasn't in a caresheet or book. Somethings learned only from experience because I already have looked up just about every thing on them but I know much to expect even when you have read up and I plan on receiving one from varnyard herps our the reptile expo in a few months and I must be as prepared as possible. Looking forward to the advice.

reptastic

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Wow were to start...1 thing learned is thetly have individual personalities and you have to learn what they like/dislike,2 the books never tell you thatbonce you have your tegu you are from that point foward its slave(just try skipping one meal and see wat happens);3 just how much they can eat, and 4 what a joy they are to have around

Beastraiser626

reptastic said:
Wow were to start...1 thing learned is thetly have individual personalities and you have to learn what they like/dislike,2 the books never tell you thatbonce you have your tegu you are from that point foward its slave(just try skipping one meal and see wat happens);3 just how much they can eat, and 4 what a joy they are to have around

I know what you mean by slave all my other pets are just plain spoiled.love them all to to death though.they are so interesting to have around.

Dana C