• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

eletrical

brad67

5 Year Member
i have an 18 in. flourescent fixture which i want to use for my tegu tank but it has a starter so it wont work on a timer does anyone know how to convert it to a regular light? i was thinking of using a reptisun 10.0 bulb with it.

jjollie

5 Year Member
yes it will work on a timer my does anyway . if you want to up grade you have to get a electronic ballast. just so you know I am a electrician

jor71

5 Year Member
I believe it should work, as previously mentioned.

BTW, I am not an electrician, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express.

PuffDragon

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
DaRealJoker said:
Repti-Sun 10.0 is a desert light Like for Beardies, A 5.0 is more suited

It's all subjective to your cage design.

If you are using a screen in between the tegu and the light source, definitely use a 10.0. Screens filter out up to 66+% of UVB.

Also, use a 10.0 if you plan on having the light source further than 12" away from your tegu.

I personally use a 10.0 as do a lot of other keepers on here. The 5.0 is not enough in my opinion.

DaRealJoker

5 Year Member
oh really? awesome I have another cage I need to light up, just got today. I'll do that then. Perfect. Also 5.0's are hard to get here, but 10's are everywhere nice and thanks
I had asked alot of people what was the right light and they all said 5.0 and even some care sheets said so too. I have a 5.0 in my tank but it's mounted low and inside his tank he never messes with it, only checked it out once and moved on. Great to know thanks again

Members online