• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

calcium sand?

VARNYARD

Former Admin
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
What do you guys think about calcium sand? I think it is nothing more than impaction in a bag. This stuff can kill your animal, it acts just like clumping kitty litter in you reptile's system.

Any feedback? Tell me what you guys think.

COWHER

5 Year Member
Yeah i dont think its a good idea its going to stick to there feet too and could cause problems that way too

nat

5 Year Member
When I was a reptile manager at a local pet store the number one health issue that customers asked me about was that their bearded dragon / leopard gecko had stopped eatting and pooping and was loosing weight rapidly. 99% of the time they were using calcium sand. I would get at least 2-3 people in the store with an impacted animal every week. The sad thing is that I would warn people not to use it and many of them choose to because of the aesthetics of it :( I wouldn't touch the stuff and am surprised it hasn't been recalled. The fact that it is called "calcium" sand has lead to a lot of people assuming they don't need to provide their animal with any other calcium suppliments, which results in the animal eatting the sand even more so and increasing the rate and risk of impaction. :( IF this product was meant for dogs/ cats and was doing the same thing, consumers would have demanded it abolished a long long time ago.

DaveDragon

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
I saw an X-ray of a Bearded Dragon with Calci-Sand impaction. It wasn't pretty.