• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

B/W Argentine Tegu Feeding (Hatchling)

TeguZen

I'm new to Tegu's, have the first coming
while reading about feeding, i see that they have quite a variety of food options.
my question is in regards to fish; I ran across a references where the tegu was eating a small fish, like goldfish or something along those lines, i'm not considering breeding goldfish but thought hmm, i've seen my local pet store on occasion has a dead fish of some sort in the aquarium, i was wondering if it was ok to take a fish that died from unknown cause and feed to a tegu (of any age), heck, i might even visit the various 'fairs' on their last day and see what 'leftovers' they have
the guy at the local reptile place had mentioned not to feed a mouse caught in a mouse trap due to lack of knowledge of said mouses diet, was just wondering if that ideology should be applied to dead fish at the pet store.

oh, otherwise, is there an easy self sustaining method of food, i might change my mind and reconsider breeding goldfish, lol or little mice

also, as a new hatchling, how many crickets should be given at feeding, i've heard as many as he wants, but I'm curious how many that might be, is it 10 or 100 as a possibility, and do they go in live, and he hunts/catches them?

Last edited:

dpjm

5 Year Member
while reading about feeding, i see that they have quite a variety of food options.

That's because they require quite a variety of foods. Try to use as many of those options as you can.