• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

all new to me

wilsh

5 Year Member
I don't know if it s nothing because i'm new to Tegu behavior, but my Teg seems to close his eyes and breath what looks like to me as quite deep breaths when basking,more so when i'm around.Do you think it could be stress ?I've only had him about 2 weeks and he eats everyday but doesnt poop everyday,but when he go's he go's. My set up is ok humidity is 60 to 70% ,my other concern is my MVB its a solar glo by exo terra 125w I have it 16"+ from the basking surface.Cant find much info on these but they were the only ones in the shop at the time.Maybe I'm worrying about nothing but i'm new so you will have to forgive me.Also is it normal for them to sleep alot on there basking spots when full.

dragonqueen4

5 Year Member
Heres MY opinion....

I am quite familiar with the solar glos and I know some will agree with me, that any exo terra uvb product is garbage.. sure its better than nothing.. but their not really strong enough for a growing tegu. Trust me, its one of the contributing factors to mine getting MBD. It should be a little closer as well.. perhaps 12-13" away, as they are not powerful.

Humidity is good, from my understanding, 80% would be even better.