• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

New to tegus with a new tegu

Okay, so first off; I'm not new to herping, but I am new to exotic herps. I threw myself willingly into the world of Tegus when I found a little baby Columbian Gold at an expo a few days ago. I want to give this little guy the best life I can so he'll grow up to be more of an animal pal than a pet.

So after reading countless threads and caresheets on here, I decided to ask some questions that were either skimmed or not even asked.

-It's only been a few days and my tegu seems very accepting of my touch already. He begs to leave his cage and will either explore on his own or sleep on my chest when I bring him out. (I lack a UVB lamp, so I bring him out when he wakes up to bask in natural sunlight every day. He usually finds my heart and "sleeps" on it) Is this because he's just still a scared baby, or is this a good sign? He's only hissed once and it wasn't even at me.

-He rubs his face on his tank a lot (he doesn't do it often, but won't stop when he actually does), and it really really bothers me. I don't want him to hurt his face doing this. What causes this? I've read that it's their way of asking to come out, but I don't want to reinforce this behavoir.

-Every so often, he'll rub his back legs together when I have him out, and then just go back to whatever he was doing. What the hell is this all about? I've read other people ask this, but no one ever answers.

Those are just the specific ones. Any other tips for a newfound tegu lover would be great!

Ratram