• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

I'm not afraid, but...

Feyotter

Hello everybody. I'm sure this is normal, but since I'm new to tegus I wanted to get your opinion. I just got Pepper (because he's kind of feisty) about 2 weeks ago from TegusOnly and was told he's still in brumation so not to expect too much activity. Well he went into his cave and never comes out except when I check on him and then he goes right back under. Not unusual from what I understand, but each time I checked on him I also had some food there just in case and he ate a piece of liver the one time and about 10 super worms the other. I thought when in brumation they didn't eat at all so if he isn't in it, why is he always hiding? Also, when he ate the super worms he arched his back and hissed at me so I'm wondering what my next step should be to get him to actually like me. And finally, I'm getting his 8x4x4 enclosure on Sunday and I'm wondering how to transfer him from his 40 gallon breeder to his new home if he won't let me anywhere near him? A lot of questions I know, but I really don't want something that all I can ever do is look at. Any help, answers, or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member