• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

IM A NEWBIE!!Kinda need some help

Greblhad

Hello everyone! I just recently bought my first Tegu off of someone who wasn't taking very good care of him. They said they have had him for about two years but he is only around 2.5 ft long. Is this normal? He also seems to be walking rather sluggishly and sometimes drags his body. The previous owner had him in a 40 gal breeder his whole life with only one uvb bulb (that probably ran out of UV within the first 6 months). His name is Thanos and he is really nice and loves to explore my room, but sometimes he just plops and lays down. I would just like some opinions from those of you with more experience with tegus, is he sick? can he overcome this and become stronger? please let me know what you all think. Thanks!

babyyitslove

Do you know anything about his diet from his previous owner?
He could be deficient in vitamins or just slowing down for hibernation.

It all depends on his past... but in order to ensure he's at his best, what you do from here on out is even more important.

Pictures?

james.w

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Could possibly have MBD. What is the enclosure like now? What bulbs are you using and what do you plan on feeding? Any pics of him and the cage?

Greblhad