• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

I need advice

G

Hello, my name is Rina, i am new to tegus. I have a lot of experience with animals and have many other reptiles, but i have never owned a tegu. Well my boyfriend and I have been looking around locally for a tegu, we live in Glendale AZ and haven't really had much luck. But today on craigslist someone posted about a black and white columbian tegu. He wants 100 bucks for the tegu (which is 3 inchs long ATM and a 55gallon tank which usually sell for more than that and we would see it anyway and build a custom cage) now that seems like a good deal to me, but the problem is that it is a columbian tegu which I know are "meaner" How hard are they actually to hand tame, since I have never had a tegu at all is it a bad idea to start with a columbian tegu? What would you "experts" recommend? Any advice is welcome! Thanks

TheTeguGurl

well first of all welcome to the forum! I have heard that they can be alittle harder to tame, but with time and handling everyday with a proper diet and enclosure they can be as tame as a puppy! just make sure you have all the proper lights uvb/ uva and heat and humity for him. as far as the price go, they go for about 40 dollars where im from. maybe you can try and get the cost down a bit? And most important make sure the tegu is in proper health get all the informmation you can from the other owner. A vet check is a good idea.. How old is this tegu also? Good luck

chelvis

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member