• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Diet

siz

5 Year Member
Hey I'm new to tegutalk and to Tegus!
I was just wondering about a rounded diet. My boyfriend and I have a Columbian that is probably about 10" or 11" long..So far we have just fed him crickets, a pinkie, and leftovers of (fresh) iguana salad. (Butternut squash, green beans, endive etc) What does a rounded diet consist of?

Thanks.

VARNYARD

Former Admin
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Welcome to the TeguTalk community, glad you joined us!! Colombian tegus are not too keen on veggies and friut, they are meat eaters, here is some information that will help you:

<!-- l --><a class="postlink-local" href="http://www.tegutalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">viewtopic.php?t=20</a><!-- l -->

siz

5 Year Member
Is the egg good for Columbians?
And regarding meat; can you feed them things other than ground turkey to vary their diet? Should this meat be cooked or no?
Also, what kind of schedule do you use to feed a juvi?

VARNYARD

Former Admin
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
I don't cook anything but the egg, and cooked eggs are fine for Colombians.

Food:
All Tegus are carnivores as hatchlings, which means they only eat meat. Crickets dusted with vitamins dust , Captive raised roaches, Mealworms, Super mealworms, ground turkey dusted with vitamin dust, Pinkie mice and cooked egg (Not raw) scrambled or hard boiled.