• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

age opinion

Broncofan73

Hello all I am very new to tegus and what i was wondering is I'd someone could possibly know how old my Tegu might be I got him or her from a friend of mine who later on realized that he would get to big for him to hsndle

Attachments

• 1444060651678.jpg
    1444060651678.jpg
    404.6 KB · Views: 24
  • 1444061043376.jpg
    1444061043376.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 23

Broncofan73

Thanks man now how could you tell? I'm sure you must have heard some of these questions from other members and must have answered them a million times lol but I'm using a 160 watt sun power uvb/uva all in one bulb is it better to use two seperate bulbs and one more thing should I use reptacal with or without D3 oh and i hope I'm not asking dumb questions

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
No problem. They lose their green heads at 5-6 weeks. It put on a little size, so 2 or just over is right.

With D3 is preferred and two lights will be helpful as the little guy grows, takes up more space, but one light works.

Broncofan73

Ty because I asked the guy at the pet store and he told me to use reptacal w/o D3 but he also told me that a tegu only goes into hibernation when they are breeding lol and just about every post I read under the hibernation section on this site told me different lol

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Good homework on your part. Mine are working on their last poop for the next five months before fully under. Will rouse them from time to time for a sip of water.

Broncofan73