• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

8 Month B&W Colombian

KrisL

So I'm new to the legged reptile scene. I've got a 1 y/o Colombian red tail boa whose just the best but that's neither here nor there.

My 8 month b/w seems a bit odd. I don't get the hissing or the whipping or the biting that I've heard all too much that they do. I'm having difficulty getting him to not poop on me randomly, he despises his uvb bulb, hell literally go under his hide and burrow under his bedding till I turn it off at night. As for his eating habits, he won't eat unless his food is in a kidney dish and here's the kicker, he won't eat if the dish is in his enclosure. I have go bring him and his food out and place them both on my belly in order for him to eat. Then after done eating he relocates to my neck under my beard and goes to sleep.

How do I get him to start basking under the uvb bulb. I don't want him to get sick and die because If I'm not mistaken that bulb is just as important to him as food and water. Any pointers anyone? Also my apologies for rambling.

marydd