• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

3 Year old Columbian rescue - Advice?

Zombree

I posted this in General Discussion before I noticed the Columbian section...
Hi! I am new to tegutalk. While I have an abundance of experience with other reptiles (mostly geckos and snakes) I have very little in the way of extremely large lizards, other than with my Savannah monitor. That being said, I have wanted a tegu for some time. More and more lately I have been doing some reading and considering getting one.

Then I found one.

While searching craigslist for some extra enclosures I came across a guy looking to rehome a three year old Columbian tegu. He has it advertised as an Argentine black and white, but after examining the pics I'm fairly certain it isn't. I asked what he feeds it and about it's temperament, to which he responded mostly turkey lunchmeat and eggs. He said it's mostly well behaved other than at feeding time, when it can get a bit feisty. He is offering the tegu and a 6x3x3 enclosure for $50 because he does not have the time or means to give it the attention necessary anymore. I am going to be checking him out tomorrow and if he seems healthy he will become the newest permanent member of our little reptilian family.