• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

1ST RAT LITTER. ANY ADVICE

Scott_k

Ok so about two weeks ago I bought 9 adult rats for a great deal, full grown adults. The guy told me one was pregnant. Well she laid about ten babies between last night and today. I seperated her and her babies from the rest of the rat pack. Is that the right move. Now do I just let them be, as in just feed water and clean. Will the mother hurt the babies. This is my first time attempting this and I don't want any thing to happen to the babies. Any tips, advice would be appreciated thanks.

Dubya

1,000+ Post Club
As a breeder of small mammals, I can tell you that the mother will not kill the babies as long as she is kept in a quiet place and is given proper food. Give extra calcium and protein because if you don't, the nursing babies will cause the mother to give off calcium from her own bones, causing health problems. I have found that by giving wet cat food to nursing mothers, you can greatly reduce the chances of cannibalism and abandonment. Good luck!

Dubya

1,000+ Post Club
Scott_k said:
Any specific type of cat food I should get.

Anything. Just something meaty. My hedgehogs and possums love Friskies chicken with cheese shredded. You just have to give them something tastier than their own children.:D

BatGirl1

1,000+ Post Club