• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Underground Reptiles Chacoan White headed Tegus Are they really giants?

Rud3dog

I have been collecting trading large lizards for 24 years or more from water monitors to iguanas. I have been out of the tegu seen for 10 years and the whole Chacoan white headed aka gentle giants is something I never heard when I was younger. I used to own a 4 foot long male Argentine Tegu in 1998 - 2005 and man it was pretty big ( not as big as my white throat monitor). It roamed the apartment / house and pooped in a kitty liter box. I thought the Argentine B&W tegus were the biggest until I contacted Underground Reptiles and told me the Chocoans were even bigger. Now since I originally owned a big tegu years ago I had trouble in my mind thinking one could get bigger. Well call me smart or call me a sucker, I guess only time will tell if these guys will grow larger then the one I used to have. I am very impressed in the fact that Underground retiles will sex them at such a young age and I bought 1 male name Cruiser or Cruz ( he is still young ). I am not complaining at all about my purchase, but would like to know if you all have noticed any size difference or any difference at all in these Tegus.

Btw, this is my first post and its nice to be here :)

Rud3dog

Here is my 2 month old Male, Cruiser.
20150816_175757.jpg
20150816_175829.jpg

I seem to trust these guys and every thing they say seems legit except the sizes. Check this out if you havnt.

Last edited:

Rud3dog