• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Not 1 tongue flick

JZrose

hi all. I am a newbie tegu owner (not new to reptiles). I have a (Archie) male b&w tegu purchased from a breeder. His hatch date was Sept. 3rd. I have had him for 10 days, in that time I have never seen 1 tongue flick, nothing. I have plenty of free time as I’m home all day. I have set up cameras to see if he’s just not comfortable with me, and havenot caught a tongue flick yet. I understand he is still new to me and his environment, but I am beginning to get concerned as he seems to have a hard time eating some things as well. So first.... he’s in a 7x2x2, 115F hot spot (megaray), cool side 80. Humidity is at 80-85%. He has ~10” of substrate to dig in, plenty of hides and greenery as well as a large water dish. The breeder clearly socialized his tegu hatchlings as Archie does not appear scared or skittish in any way. In fact if I sit by the enclosure, he comes over to meet me on the other side of the glass, and will stay until he falls asleep. If I open the door he climbs right into my hand. Now to the feeding: if I give him small bites of ground meat and wet dog food; he manages fine. However, if I give him roaches (far smaller than the space between his eyes), he can get them down maybe 50% of the time. He will almost appear to gag, and the roach seems to get stuck in the roof of his mouth. I have not seen his tongue when he is smelling me, food, water.... I have literally never seen his tongue. He does open his mouth when a typical tongue flick would occur. Does anyone have any thought here? Could it have been bitten off my