• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

new tegu owner

holyshotgun28

hello i just got a Argentine red tegu on saturday at a local reptile show and feed it hard boiled eggs on saturday i have two questions since i am new to lizards but keep other reptiles I have the tegu in a 4x2 cage now with a substrate i use for one of my snakes its aspen shavings but for "small mammals" so my first question is when should i expect it too eat next since the tegu is borrowed non stop and has not come back out too eat ive left some more eggs in there right now and geuse will leave it for bout another hour but it still has not eaten since saturday is this normal for a new baby tegu. My second question is that the tegu i took it out tonight too check on it and see how its looking but it was making kinda a wheezing sound now im used too the signs of hissing snakes but this was kinda a like breath out but not really loud like any of my snakes and then would take a deep breath back in so im wondering if this could be a possibility of a RI but theres no other signs of it since ive seen it before in one of my snakes i adopted from a person so if i could get some help that would be appricated.

james.w

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
The wheezing could be from the aspen. It is pretty dusty, and is not a very good substrate for tegus.

holyshotgun28

ok what would be the best substrate then and another question how long should i leave the chopped up hard boiled egg in the cage for and since i have a reptile fogger going on the cage will that effect the dustyness of the aspen bedding

kellen.watkins