• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

New tegu not eating and hiding help!

Coby

Hey guys I just got my Argentine black and white tegu about 3 days ago! I'm new to the tegu world and was just wondering if I could get some help. The breeder said that he was eating crickets, ground turkey and pinky mice... But since we've had him he hasn't eaten anything and seems generally un interested in his food I know it can be stress I just didn't know if I should be handling him or what I should do pls help!

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Typical behavior of newly-moved tegu. Offer food and water. In about two weeks he'll be out more with a routine developing.

Teguixin.22

I waited about a week before offering food just so mine got acclimated to her surroundings. Like previously said, normal stuff.

Coby

I waited about a week before offering food just so mine got acclimated to her surroundings. Like previously said, normal stuff.
It's been about a week now and he still hasn't seemed to touch his food I have a basking tile in the corner of the cage where his lights are and he just digs under it and hides all day what do I do!

Leezard

5 Year Member
My tegu was a picky eater up until 2 months ago and he's about a year now, just be patient a healthy tegu knows what's going on :)