• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

New owner seeking humidity advice

SurrealReverie

Hello all, I am a very new tegu owner and have found that it is very hard to keep the humidity up in my boy's enclosure. I did so much research before getting him but like always there are things I am still learning. I was looking for opinions on humidifiers or any other techniques that people have picked up in order to maintain humidity. Thank you all in advance
Oh and my boy is a red who is about 2 months old.
Also I apologize if this has been covered in a previous thread

Attachments

• 20210219_175844.jpg
    8.1 MB · Views: 40

TheTeguNovice

5 Year Member
Welcome and congrats on the new tegu! It looks like it has a nice temperament! Can you provide a full picture of what you have it in?, right off the back if you have a screen top it will be difficult to keep humidity because it provides escape for the water vapors not allowing them to accumulate. Try using plastic wrap around the top, of course not in the area of your heat lamp. The goal is to retain as many vapors as possible. In addition lightly misting your substrate daily is also beneficial.

rantology

It looks like he already has a bit of stick shed around the tail in the picture, possibly multiple layers? You will need to soak with betadine daily and work at that, they grow so quickly stuck shed can become dangerous in short order.