• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

New b&w arg owner would like more advice

Jesse1781

Hello and thanks for taking the time to educate me a bit more on my tegu.
So it's been 2 days now since I received my tegu in the mail. He is a yearling maybe 16 inches with his tail. Maybe slightly smaller I'm not good with judging length lol. I got him from Florida (it took about 16 hours in transit from Florida post office to my front door) from a gentleman who catches wild tegu and tries to home them so they are not destroyed. I talked to him on the phone he was a good guy and answered all my questions and concerns. Now I see alot of people having issues with their captive breed tegu but let me tell you this guy is a baby. I left him the first day (he was super calm taking him out of the box n bag from mail) and brought him out the 2nd and he just explored a bit then layed under my shirt against my stomach soaking up the heat before exploring again. Other then that he has been submerged under his substrate. Everything seems like a fairy tail for the most part... I got the lizard of my dreams I saved his life he's super Melo has great colors etc... . My question is when should he eat? He has shown no interest in crickets, fruit, scrambled eggs or ground beef. Now maybe since he was not captive breed he might only want live prey idk. Should I wait? Also here in buffalo it's winter here so maybe it is a hibernation thing? Well I hope to hear from some of you experts in this area and appreciate your time. Ty and look forward to hearing from you.

Attachments

• IMG_20181228_123713352.jpg