• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

New at Tegu-ing

Limbo Linda

I am a newbie, newbie.....Never in my wildest dreams did I ever plan to have possession of a black and white Argentine Tegu. I soooo do not know what I am doing. He (or she??) belongs to my 14 year old Grandson. A recent divorce turned everything upside down and, somehow, grandma got the Tegu. I'm only caring for him until the dust settles and he can go back to my grandson - which could be several months away. Right now, I manage to feed him stew beef, with a pair of tongs, and I have learned that he likes grapes, but he hates strawberries and peaches. My grandson used to take him out of his habitat and handle him. This is something granny can NOT do!! The thought of reaching in and touching him, let alone getting him out of his habitat, is beyond what I can do at this point. Is that harmful to them? I know they are supposed to be very social creatures and should be handled often. I'm good with his food and water, but that's the end of my care at this point. He lunged at me when I reached in for his water bowl. Do they bite?? This site has been a life saver for me. Thank you all for the helpful, much needed information.

rantology

Oh my, that's a lot to suddenly have on your plate! Can you list the equipment and enclosure the tegu currently has?