• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

My baby tegu is crazy! Help!

Jaci

So I recently bought a baby b/w argentine. While I’m new to owning one I do have a little experience dealing w them, as I used to help a friend of mine That bred them. I’ve never experienced the feeding issues I’m having with this guy. First off he’s incredibly picky. I’m having a lot of trouble getting him to eat veggies or fruits. Even ground up in turkey he won’t touch the turkey if there’s anything in it. I’ve tried many different fruits and veggies in his meat, cut in tiny pieces by themselves and even fruit and veggie baby food, the baby food he will, on occasion, give a lick or two. He also seems to get fixated on certain foods. When I first got him he would eat plain turkey w no issue, then I introduced salmon into his diet and he went on a hunger strike until he was given it again. I’m trying really hard to give him a varied diet but he’s really fighting me on it. Weekly, he’s given turkey, salmon, chicken hearts, a pinkie, crickets and shrimp Or tilapia every now and then. I sprinkle zoo med calcium powder On all of it. He wouldn’t touch the calcium powder at first either, that was struggle.