• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

I need advice! i am new to being a tegu owner

Joshua Wu

So im getting a tegu tmr.
The shop has a red tegu, black and white tegu, and also one with a green head
for some reason the green head is around 200usd more expensive.
The shop does not know its age but only says that they are below 1 year old.
I also have made a feeding plan for him

- Monday - Raw Turkey + Berries/Grapes
- Tuesday - Crickets + D3 vitamin + calcium supplements + more berries
- Wednesday - Eggs - Boiled/Scrambled + Chicken heart
-Thursday - break
- Friday Multivitamin + crickets + rat pups
- Saturday - Ground beef + worms/ eggs boiled/scrambled
- Sunday - Turkey/rat pups and some berries

My questions:
Should i get a black and white, red, or the expensive green headed tegu? What are differences between them?
Is my feeding plan ok?
I want to get a male because people say they are more docile and get bigger, but the shop does not know how to tell, is there a way i can tell?
I live in hong kong, the humidity is always around 60-70, the temp is around 25-30 but my air con is on so its about 21Celcius, do i need heat pads for him?
What are some of the key things that i want to look for in a tame and docile tegu?
Any other advice is appreciated.

AlphaAlpha

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
As far as I'm aware all black and whites are born green so this just means that one is probably younger or not changed its colour as fast.