• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Feeding problem

evan k

5 Year Member
Hi, i really need some help from you guys. I am still a beginner when it come to herp keeping. I own a bw tegu right now and she is still very
20180622_125255.jpg
young, just 4 years old. I am really stressed out since my tegu won't eat anything beside mice at this age! And maybe a bit off scrambled egg and pork.

When she was still 35 or 40 cm long, she would eat a slice of banana or chicken meat and crickets. But right now she is only accepting mice. I dont give it everyday ofc, like only once a week or once per two weeks. And i only give her 2 small mices. I am pretty worried too since she only eat twice a week, which is usually 3 or 4 days after eating 2 mices.

Can someone give me advice how to wean him to eat fruits or other meat beside mice?? Sorry for my bad english. Thanks a lot

FYI thats my tegu one week ago. Is she kinda skinny from your guys opinion? I am thinking about taking her to the vet
20180622_125219.jpg
20180622_125219.jpg

Zyn

Looks healthy to me maybe upgrade to small rats than mice they are far more nutritious

evan k

5 Year Member
Thank goodness if she looks okay. I am thinking about taking her out for a walk in daily routine so she get hungry. I found out some guys have the exact problem with me. Usually the advice that is given is to stop feeding the mice, starve the tegu, and then give it fruits or new food. Should i try it? And how long does a 4 year old tegu can hold its hunger if i starve her?

Zyn