• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Egyptian Uromastyx

BatGirl1

1,000+ Post Club
I'm not an expert, however was looking into getting one before I got my tegu. From what I remember, they are desert creatures so they like dry, hot temps. Not sure how big they get, maybe similar to bearded dragons(?) What turned me 'off ' of getting one is that their 'ideal ' diet is ants, and other foods that they are commonly fed causes them to have health issues. If anyone has better knowledge of them, perhaps they have an idea of supplemental foods which give them equal nutrients as ants would. (?)

Oh, as far as temperament,i have found most to be very nice/managable, especially as they get bigger. The babies can be skittish, but such is true for many lizards...

dragonmetalhead

1,000+ Post Club
I read the Egyptians get about 2.5 feet, which is quite a bit bigger that other uro species. I have a nearly 13 year old Mali who is most unpleasant. Normally uros are nice and friendly, but mine is cranky and sometimes aggressive. They're vegetarian, which makes feeding relatively simple. BatGirl1, it's horned lizards that eat only ants not uromastyx.

BatGirl1

1,000+ Post Club
Really? Hmmm. Cuz I looked it up and more than one site said ants. That it was their primary diet. Strange..... :/

Little Wise Owl

5 Year Member
Uromastyx diet consists of leafy greens, vegetables, some fruit, seeds, and lentils. I would advise finding a captive bred one.

Little Wise Owl

5 Year Member