• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Cost of Caring for Tegus $$$

donut

I'd like to make a comprehensive list of all the things required to care and maintain adult tegus. This would be very helpful to many others in deciding whether or not they are able to keep these wonderful animals happy and healthy.

I am very new to everything, so I'm sure I missed some things or misquoted the price. I would be grateful for any adjustments made to this list!

Initial Setup:
Enclosure $200
Heat lamp $20
UVB lamp $20
Water bowl $5
Spray mister $5
Tegu $200

Running Costs:
Food $28.00/mo
Multivitamin $1.00/mo ?
Bedding $3.00/mo ?
Electric bill $10.00/mo ?
Veterinary bill ???

james.w

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
I would say....

Tegu $150-350 depends if you get a B&W, AA, Red, Extreme giant
Enclosure $300-400 depends on what type of wood, doors, light fixtures you use
UVB bulb $40-80 depends on which one you get and where
water bowl $5
hide $5
basking rock/tile $5-10
substrate $10-100 depends on what you use an where you are located

not too sure on the monthly costs, never really calculated them.

adam1120

Uvb are more than 20 dollars like 30 to 70 for uvb light I haven't got my tegu yet but I priced out my enclosure a 8x3x3 around 350+ so maybe a lil more on prices Idk depending where u live.

rrcoolj

5 Year Member