• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Cage critique/ suggestions

mike jonesss

hello everyone! I'm the proud new owner of an argentine b&w tegu. I picked up my little female at an expo a couple of weeks ago and was able to build her home over the weekend. Although I'm not new to reptiles, I am new to the tegus. For her enclosure I made it 8ftx3ftx3ft made out of melamine. I used silicone in every crack to hold in humidity and also cut 2 holes in the back for ventilation( I covered them with air vent covers). I know most people use cypress for the substrate however I used a coco fiber/ coco mulch mix Which was recommended by the vendor I purchased her from. I used cement bricks under a 150 watt Che to create a basking spot which stays right around 100degrees. A also used small pieces of slate and cork to create some hides and the cool side of her enclosure stays around 70-75degrees. For the uvb I have the 48" reptisun 10.0 which is on a timer for a 12 hour cycle. I plan on adding a fogger/mister to keep the humidity up but until then I have been misting her enclosure 1-2 times a day keeping the humidity between 70 and 80 percent. Ive fed her raw ground turkey which i dusted with a small amount of calcium and I was able to get her to eat a little of, but not very much. I also tried fruits and veggies and she wasn't interested at all. She always buries herself and hides for 95% of the day. does anyone have suggestions on anything I need to add or change in order to have a happy and healthy tegu? Any tips for a new owner?
IMG_2155.JPG
IMG_2156.JPG
Thanks in advance!!!

Walter1

Staff member